Accor named Accommodation Chain of the Year

Accor named Accommodation Chain of the Year

Accor named Accommodation Chain of the Year

Accor collected 14 coveted award wins and was named ‘Accommodation Chain of the Year’ at the 2019 HM Awards for Hotel and Accommodation Excellence held at Sydney’s International Convention Centre last Friday (6 September).

Sofitel Sydney Darling Harbour was crowned Luxury Hotel of the Year, and Art Series hotel, The Fantauzzo, was awarded Hotel Interior Design of the Year following its 2019 grand opening. Accor award wins extended regionally for a second consecutive year, with Ayer’s Rock Resort’s Uluru Meeting Place taking out the Meeting and Conferencing Property of the Year and Fairmont Resort & Spa Blue Mountains by MGallery winning Regional Property of the Year.

Hardy Verandah Restaurant at Mount Lofty House was awarded Hotel Restaurant of the Year and Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbourwas crowned New Zealand Hotel of the Year.

Accor was awarded best Marketing Campaign for the success of the Wintervention campaign and Race to Survive Fiji was recognised for its commitment to the community, winning the Service to the Community Award.

Accor prevailed in the people award categories with Paul Columbus from Novotel Auckland Airport being awarded New Zealand General Manager of the Year. Other wins on the night included Desmond Taliauli, Novotel Sydney Darling Harbour (Concierge Associate), Kedea Atherton (Human Resources Associate), David Tonkin, Mount Lofty House (Front Office Associate) and Ding Yi, Pullman Sydney Airport (Hotel Engineer).

The group was also awarded 21 Highly Commended accolades including Simon McGrath in the HM Magazine Australasian Hotelier of the Year category and Michael Issenberg in the HM Magazine Asia-Pacific Hotelier of the year category.

The annual HM Awards for Accommodation Excellence is highly recognised by the accommodation industry in acknowledging the finest people, departments, properties, brands and chains across Australia, New Zealand and the South Pacific.

Hosted by television personality Larry Emdur, the year’s Awards were attended by a record crowd of nearly 1,000 hoteliers and industry elite.

Source = Accor

Source link